I Was Invited to Join the Country as a Warrior from Another World, but I refused and Decided to Start as a Soldier

Chapter 10:

I drank some of the tea that had been brought over.
…Dried Aello leaves were used in this.

Brute smuggled some of them into the barracks between our assignments and gave me some after it had finished drying beneath his bed.

The Officers overlooked small things like that.

Hmm… So this is what they’re selling at cafes.

“And so, what about you, Fujihira?”

Fujihira puffed his chest out, with an attitude that screamed “Take a look at the gear I’m wearing!”

“Can’t tell from seeing it? You don’t need to be an adventurer to acquire wealth, equipment and power. Hunting for treasure is easy enough when you’re strong.”

…‘Treasure Hunting’, it’s less about what he’s saying, but how he’s saying it.

A ‘Treasure Hunter’ who isn’t qualified for the job is essentially a thief.

I suppose that means he found equipment along the way, killed monsters and raised his level.

Turning him in would be easy, but I’m not interested in getting on provoking him just yet.

It has me thinking though, perhaps the higher ups are silently tolerating his actions, like some form of privilege reserved for otherworlders.

“What about you? By comparison, you’re trying way too hard to be a dog of the military, and all it’s doing is making you look like a dumbass.”

Aren’t you the one intoxicated on the idea that you’re too awesome to be under anyone’s control?
Yeesh, this is such a drag…

I’ll just phase in and out of the conversation as it goes along.

Oho? These cookies were made with herbs, they’re pretty good.

I may be able to get the materials back at camp. Perhaps I could try making some myself later on.

“Still. I’ve got some cheat skills that you lot don’t. So hurry up and admit that I’m stronger than you all alr-”

“Woah, it’s true, it’s true, you’re so strong! Hmm? Are you referring to… the Number Skill?”

That’s the name I gave to the mystery skill before I broke off from the others.

“Everybody has one of those. Didn’t you know?”

As I observed Fujihira, his face contorted into one of great displeasure in no time flat.

It’s all because he left the room before everyone checked their status.

He couldn’t have honestly believed that out of everyone, he was the only one who received some kind of special ability, right?
Wait, this is Fujihira we’re talking about. He absolutely would’ve.
Undoubtedly.

“Of course I knew that!”

He’s shouting again.
Looks like I hit the bulls-eye.

“Don’t act conceited!”

He really likes yelling.

“I’m not. All I did was ask if that’s what you’re referring to.”

Fujihira, your boiling point is seriously low.

“W-Well, that’s fine. So, Totsuka. What level are you?”

“Level 6.”

“Pff… That’s it, seriously?”

His mood perked up instantly.

I can’t understand why Fujihira, in all of his senseless competitiveness, thinks I’m also going about my business in a carefree, unbound way.
Seems to me like he’s the one being bound by levels.

“You layabout. You’ve gotta get even stronger to be great, don’t you know that?”

I’m not too sure about the ‘strength leading to being great’ part, but provoking him again will just lead to even more yelling.
Time to tune him out again.

From that point on all Fujihira did was pointlessly brag, giving detailed explanations of his accomplishments in a manner that seemed askew from the actual facts.

After he’d separated from us, Fujihira left the city in order to gain power, valiantly fought monsters and unlocked the secrets to his power in doing so.

The next day he came upon a terminal, and touched it inquisitively.

Then, he allocated a few points into some skills and began to overpower monsters with ease, he began going wherever he could to find more. Fujihira then started babbling about how he’d snuck into a dungeon right under the guard’s nose.

Naturally, I’m being succinct and to the point about it.
Mostly because of how much he exaggerated it.

So, after some time spent stealing from the dungeons, Fujihira realized it was more efficient to scavenge around the Labyrinth Field that he’d heard about.

I learned about that back in class.
While I’ve yet to experience it, there’s apparently a field dungeon… which is maze-like in nature.
This dungeon is said to be convenient due to a teleportation device that allows you to navigate the floors quickly and easily.

Either the field is connected to the dungeon, or vice-versa, but due to how it’s placed it’s difficult to guard properly, so for Treasure Hunters… it’s a suitable place to steal from.

To further simplify, the place is a labyrinth full of mystery.

However, I’ve heard similar tales when it comes to large-scale dungeons.

Due to where they’re located, you’d be unlikely to come across any dangerous, sealed monsters or anything, but… I’m not too sure about the thieves.

But, back to Fujihira… He’s been talking about himself non-stop for a while now.

I suppose anyone would’ve been fine for him to come across, seeing as all he wanted to do was brag about himself.

“So, Totsuka, that’s where you and I differ. Don’t be so casual about approaching me in the future, alright?”

“What?”

Stunning me, Fujihira got up from his seat and left the cafe.
The hell’s with that…? He’s the one who approached me all gung-ho.

Finishing off what was left of my tea, I took a few more bites from the confectioneries provided.

“Oh, is that you, Totsuka?”

“Hm? Tobino?”

Tobino, who’d been apprenticed to an adventurer and was now wearing leather armor, approached me.

“What a coincidence seeing you here.”

“Yeah. How’s military life treating you?”

“It’s hard. Still, I can understand the reasoning behind all the discipline. I suppose the only issue is that the food sucks?”

“I see… It’s not easy being an adventurer’s apprentice either. I’m always cleaning the equipment, and I’m in charge of maintaining all the required tools.”

“Yeah, we were taught about some of that too.”

“The rest of the time I’m fighting for my life against monsters. It’s tiring. Whats more, I’m constantly competing with other adventurers, and I feel bad that my level isn’t rising fast enough…”

Ahh… I suppose it’s something akin to being power-leveled in an online game?
I’m not sure about the others, but in my case I’m gaining a lot of hands-on experience from the work I’ve been doing, and I’ve learned a lot from it.

After having that conversation with Fujihira, I’m happy enough to have a normal conversation with someone.
Yup, this is how it should go.

“It was the worst when a monster shot me with an arrow! I honestly thought it’d kill me. Thankfully, I was healed with magic.”

“Yeah, I feel you…”

It was awful when I was injured.
Brute did help me out of that though.

“Anyway, there’s lots of exciting stuff that happens during an adventure, and I’m going to keep at it.”

“Glad to hear it. Nothing’s terribly wrong on my end yet… at least for now.”

“That’s good. If I’m honest, I’m just glad I had a chance to talk with you about whether or not I made the right decision between joining the military and being apprenticed to an adventurer.”

I spoke with Tobino for a while as we exchanged information.
Just as I’d surmised, the priority I’d taken for Owl’s Eye and the other skills was the right call since it apparently helps with dealing with attacking monsters

There’s no harm in discussing it, since it’s something difficult to figure out by oneself.
In places like Africa, the natives often have good eyesight, right?
From what I’ve been told, it’s something you pick up from being born into and raised in that kind of environment.

As the conversation between Tobino and I picked up…

“Dear customer, the bill, if you would….”

“Pardon?”

“The customer earlier was quite insistent in saying 「That guy over there will pay the rest.」…I didn’t think much of it as he had paid half up front… Umm, that is to say… my apologies!”

While they apologized, I looked over what had been handed to me.
Fujihira had apparently only paid for the tea he’d ordered for himself.

Huh? Didn’t he order the cookies too?
He definitely scarfed them down while he bragged about himself.

Fujihira didn’t treat me to tea, nor did he buy the cookies!

What a prick, all that talk about “feeling generous”.
To him, referring me to the story somehow equals being generous!?

“That dick!”

Who the fuck does he is!?
He’s the one who explicitly told me not to associate with him so carelessly!
I wouldn’t have even spoken to the guy if it hadn’t been under the premise of a free drink!

“What’s up? Something happened?”

“Yeah, Fujihira happened.”

“Ah… I’ve come across him a few times while adventuring. I remember him scarpering away after being warned.”

That’d be because Tobino’s superior is a licensed adventurer.
Fujihira must be getting a feel for the area, and without a doubt is on the road to thief class-change.

“What now? I don’t make that much money either, so I’m not in a position to help…”

“I can afford it on a recruit’s pay… don’t worry about it.”

Tobino is an adventurer’s apprentice.
The amount of money he’ll earn is directly correlated to his ability as an adventurer.
A single vial of medicine could mean the difference between life and death for him in an emergency.

“But…”

I can’t let him foot the bill based on crap that someone like Fujihira started.

“It’s fine, honestly. You can help me by tracking down Fujihira instead.”

“Got it. Let’s make him pay.”

“I’m terribly sorry about this! The price is…”

“No problem. He’s the one to blame, so I’ll make sure he pays for this.”

The employee continued to apologize profusely, however.
How much more trouble does he need to cause for others?

There’s no other choice than to make Fujihira pay for the cookies he ate.

Afterwards, Tobino and I scoured the area for Fujihira until the sun had nearly set, yet there was no sign of him!
As you’d expect of a thief. Fleet-footed when running away.

The next time I see him he’ll pay, be prepared!

sigh… If I run into Fujihira anywhere, I’ll tell him. Should I get the money off of him then?”

“No, I don’t want you paying for Fujihira’s antics. I won’t be satisfied unless I pry it from his hands myself.”

“You’re so well disciplined. Oh well. If you ever need help with anything, look me up, I’ll try my hardest.”

“Thanks. I’ll see you later.”

“See ya.”

Saying my goodbyes to Tobino, I departed and made my way back.
…It’s been too long since I had something decent to eat, so the memory stuck with me.

Those cookies were great.
At that price, they’ll be gone before I can even blink. Since I want plenty of them, I’ll have to look into buying the ingredients and making them myself.

TL/N: Sorry for any long delays, real life has a way of getting to you. Especially heatwaves.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started